Write-I-Fied! The Life of a Happy Scribe

It is with a combination of glee and weepitude that I bid official adieu to the inaugural SFU Southbank Writer’s Program. I believe I did a rather tip top job for both of my performances. Yes, I went about my preparation with my usual 11th hour frenetic attack, but I worked it out pretty well. Not perfectly, but all in all, my main criteria were met:

a) I did not burst into hysterical tears on stage

b) I did not urinate on or near the stage

c) I remained upright at all appropriate times

d) I did not drill holes through the podium with my shaking hands

e) I made eye contact! (since I am prone to averting my eyes, this was a major feat. I was having a hell of a time not glancing up at the ceiling instead of at the audience, as if imploring Zorp to whisk me away to the mother ship above)

f) I added a bit more “character acting” to the reading

And, there we have it. The beginning of a beautiful friendship between myself, the writerly community, and my future readers and listeners beyond…whoever they may be, wherever they are. I now feel bolstered to actually find more of them.

AND, as a super added bonus of say wha? to round out a wonderful course and afternoon….I won this……….

 

 

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in All You Need is Love, Love, Pens keyboards notebooks everywhere: Writer's Write about Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Write-I-Fied! The Life of a Happy Scribe

Leave a Reply

