free writing for little d

i remember a little boy beside me, behind a single-paned window,framed by a bright winter light bursting forth, aching the eyes, blinking back. cold to the touch, it chilled my face pressed nose first. no one was looking except him, so it seemed, so i planted my lips and puffed up my cheeks. his eyes, expansive-wide, wider, widest, as i expelled air out into frosty blossoms that grew brilliant white around my button face. blllllrrrrrrrrrrrrrrtttttttttttttttt blurp pffffffffffffttttttttttttttt. we looked on at the perfect o’d mouth print in giggled awe, he on tip-toes, his little lean against my side-my best friend and 1st companion, together that day to play, peer, explore. i don’t remember how my mother told me-i can’t even see her face. i have no idea what reason she  gave 1st as to where he went. did i beg, did i plead, did i cry? did i somehow know before the words that he had gone and died? my response of, “he’s with jesus now,” were they your words or were they mine? i know he was little, i know we stood in front of a winter window because there is a green-toned picture stained in the corner with grape juice. i have moved it with me in this box or that into every house and home. i know he had already been through so much. i know it might or might not have been accidental at his father’s hand. i had once felt, with the greatest and surest certainty that it was a saving grace that took him away from a life full to the brim and running over with suffering. like father and new son did unto daughter #2. like grandfather before them-how far back goes this broken shame? today, all of the children and the father have found their safety place with each other. unwounded, they can face each day, as covers were pulled back and back and back again. i can’t help but wonder, who am i to say, what is and isn’t someone else’s saving grace?

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in All You Need is Love, Love, Childish Stories for Adults, Pens Uninterrupted: Workshopping Scribbles and Such, Relation Ships, Sink or Float, Societies, Pieties. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

