Giant Blankets and Fiery Hot Heads

I must vent about a particular pet peeve; one thing that gets my goat and locks him up in a barn, bleating in an angry and lonely manner…overgeneralizing. I do it, you do it, we all do it at times, but there is a particular person I have in mind and I dedicate this post to his specific ignorance. It takes a particularly arrogant and stupid minded person to get on my Facebook wall and say something like, “Affordable housing is 100% not needed anywhere in Canada. Affordable housing is a buzz word for—somebody else to help pay your rent.” Anyone is welcome to get on my wall and disagree with me about social housing, drug, alcohol, mental illness, vegetarianism, consumerism, global warming, any such area that I’m passionate about and frequently post about if they’d like, but don’t disrespect my time and significant efforts in this area with bull shit, narrow minded, trite, shallow and flippant comments that perhaps you think are clever. Don’t do this for the sake of getting under my skin. If this were the mission, congratulations, you’ve succeeded. But what is the point? Being provocative just for the sake of getting a rise is utterly juvenile, at best, if that was the purpose. If it was a genuine expression of belief, then I would suggest doing your homework in the real world and get back to me after you’ve actually talked to people in these types of situations.

I appreciate well-thought out arguments, even if I don’t understand them or disagree with them. What astonishes me to no end is how completely ridiculous and unfounded these types of statements are and how disconnected they are from basic human rights, needs, and compassion. Given that I am cursing and insulting someone at the moment, I am not exactly demonstrating a fully realized kindness a la Buddha, but there are times when enough is enough. I’ve heard and read so much unfounded garbage about unemployed “bums” “crazy people” etc etc etc, and I really cannot take it anymore. I AM one of those people; the only difference is that I still have a place to live and a reasonable network of people who wouldn’t likely ever let it get to the point that I was on the street.

I may regret writing this later, but for now, I am willing to say, I am fed up. I am sick of hurtful, ugly, pretentious judgement. I am worn out by exclusion, cliques, greed and superficial senses of entitlement. None of what we have is truly ours. We did not spring into this world ready to rock in a self-sufficient manner and it is very convenient for anyone who happens to have been privileged enough to be a “have” in a much bigger “have not” world to forget entirely about the interconnected and fragile web that keeps him/her in that position.

We are specks in an infinite sea of other specks and at any moment, we could be wiped out and it makes me utterly despondent to think we, as this supposedly great species, might all end without us ever getting basic decency right, not only for ourselves, but for the animals and plants and everything else we  have abused along the way. How long is it going to take? It’s on days like these that I just don’t know anything and it hurts my heart even more than it makes me angry. We are all weak, we are all vulnerable and it would best serve us to stop acting as if we are better than what we are.

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in Societies, Pieties. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

