Travel with Purpose: Every Day Reasons to Get Up and Go (MEGAPHONE)

Every day may seem to have a similar texture. I can wake up and imagine that it is all the same in that hum drummery that life can be.

BUT!!!!!

This is utterly wrong. For all of my intentions,wishes and wants, I am nowhere remotely near where I would’ve imagined many years ago, so indeed, very much has altered; it has only seemingly happened in bursts, but it has been years of building to each point. Every step along the way has lead me to where I am, and where I am may not be ideal, but it is closer to home than I’ve been before.

Thanks be to Methusala for that! I do not even wish to imagine who I might have been without the trajectory my life has taken.

One of the reasons I have a greater sense of meaning in my now is Megaphone Magazine  http://www.megaphonemagazine.com/

I know that it has done wonders for me having this organization in my life in the last few months. I am doing something, just a little something, to participate in the community and it creates a reciprocal circumstance, because the  giving results in receiving. I know I can do a lot more than I am, and look forward to being even more proactive, but I have already gained so many new insights into life on the street and the incredible community of people on the downtown eastside. There are so many who love and work tirelessly, such immense strength and character, and so much incomprehensible pain; it is impossible to not be profoundly affected.

I am so grateful for my chance to know purpose and walk with it, though I am not secure in my capabilities to put my one foot down in front of the other. I thank Sean Condon, the executive director, who has been ever so patient with my nebulous scheduling and temporary disappearances into the ether. He inspires me with his easy going and driven nature, a truly grand combo pack. I thank the array of vendors I’ve had the  privilege to meet and talk to. I have met some really awesome people. I have read some incredible stories, and I have wept repeatedly over them. But I will keep going back for as long as I can, because it is a brilliant light outside of myself that somehow I can hold as part of me.

(As an interuptive side note, I have deliriously deleted my photos that go with this brief blurboid…I purposefully took some shots of the MegaCloset (as I have taken to calling the Megaphone Office) to share so people would know of the plush conditions a tiny non-prof revels in:)..but alas, in some dizzy state of I-phone photo deleting frenzy, I got rid of those before I had uploaded them onto my computer!). More to follow…system seems to be on the fritz and I can’t upload more. And we are moving in October…so, pretty soon there shall be images of fancy new digs!  With a toilet! I can’t express my joy about this enough times:)

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in Societies, Pieties, Work Schmerk: Volunteering, Schooling, Job-ing, Calling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

