Good Luck Comes In 21’s

Penny: Come on, you got to work with me. We need to get connected with our bodies.

Sheldon: Penny, my body and I have a relationship that works best when we maintain a cool, wary distance from each other (The Big Bang Theory).

“You’ve got to just say, whatever this body is, I’m going to work with it, I’m going to love it, I’m going to treat it right. You’ve got to forgive yourself a little bit here and then you’ll be surprised what your body will give you back.” Stacy London


1.The above quotes  very fortuitously came to my attention via  the media imps. Very apropos. I have vacillated back and forth between wary distance and presence within my body. This has been a grand journey back and I look forward to its continuation. It brings up feelings, very powerful feelings of remorse and regret; it has been hard to forgive myself for letting things fall so fantastically apart. I thought I was ready to face and move past certain stories that I’ve lugged about with me, but apparently, I was wrong. Maybe moving past isn’t the idea, but rather absorbing and owning the lessons.

I don’t want to lose my stories, because they bring with them compassion for people, particularly women, who can’t see what they have and what they deserve; that they have to believe in and fight for themselves even if no one else will and especially if someone is actively trying to keep them down. I have been there and I absolutely know what that means, but now I’m here and I am going to keep on keeping on, moving on up. With this theme in mind, we shall move on to point 2.

2. Yesterday I came home and decided I had to tend to my tomato plants. As I haven’t been home much, instead taking care of other people’s yards, houses, and animals, my own little plants have been sorely neglected. The vine was left to become a ground creeper, rarely watered, crawling around looking for whatever nutrients it could find. Yet, this hardy beast has produced delicious fruit; I popped the little red gems into my mouth as I staked and watered and fertilized away (non-chem, organic only, thank-you). And like the happy tomato plant in my yard, I am now making my way up the wall. That is my name. Leanna means climbing vine; Dawn, my middle name, is the rising of the sun. Is there a coincidence here? I don’t believe there is.

3. This will be my last  “official”  foodie post in the 21 day exploration. I will continue, as has been suggested, to update on occasion, but I plan to shift the objective little by little to include other aspects of health. I also intend to set up some sort of  recipe, factoid and other such possible goodies swap hopefully.

I have prepped every last bit of food for my 5 day rendezvous with Salt Spring. I look forward to the ferry ride and entire adventure very much. I love standing on the deck on rainy cold nights, when no one else is out there. It is such a beautiful feeling when the air is crisp and silent and the wind does all of the talking. I am excited to write, and nervous, inexplicably. I am thrilled to explore some beautiful scenery on the down times too. I need the peace to sit with me and settle me down into my writerly self.

It will be over all too soon.

For now, I bid this chapter semi-adieu, offering a kindly bonjour to the universe of fiction that has long been neglected.

 

 

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in Body Blissed, Body Cursed: A Trek Through Loss and Gain and Loss and Gain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

