On Wellness, Illness, Zumbaness, and Bountifulness: Day 15 and 16

As the day lies still into the night, I am lying here on my bed thinking about what it means to be well. It is a timely thought, as I am feeling its opposite right now. Plans were cancelled; I am not as fond of being buckled over, nauseated at public gatherings as it might seem:)

I will need to be bold and patient, with all that I want to pursue, change, and grow into. And I need to be kind to my body, when it is in pain, as it is now. I am grateful that the worst of it did not come about this a.m. I will continue to eat well, and I will celebrate my little victory on the dance floor this morning.

I woke up feeling rather ugh, and did my best to convince myself that I should skip my first Zumba class this morning. It took much poking, prodding, and the downing of Advil to push past what I felt and go out the door to what I wanted and needed.

The class was incredibly fun, challenging, and uplifting. I was able to lose myself, at times, in the feeling of movement, the presence of joy, and the drowning in sweat droplets gleefully covering every inch of my body. I got caught a few times, particularly at the end when I was losing steam, in focusing more than was helpful, on the steps I was missing. That can truly take you out of moment bliss.

I will most definitely be going back to the class. Next weekend, I shall be holed up somewhere, writing my novel (eeks) for that 3 day contest, so I will be unable to partake from the glass of human movement. I look forward to the future of spins, shimmies, and samba steps.

For now, I will appreciate again, all of the blessed bounty that presents itself before me on the table, in moments of vigor, and in its opposite; when I do not feel good. I appreciate what I see, feel, and learn from illness and body difficulties. I have learned perseverance, which has helped me be a fighter; I have learned patience, which has helped me let things pass in their time; I have learned gentleness, which has helped me be compassionate to other people. I will turn this gentle attention to myself right now, and end this post.

Thank-you, as always, to the universe, for showing the truth in its glorious glimpses…that we are one, and our unity within ourselves, is reflected in our bodies, our words, our communities.

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in Body Blissed, Body Cursed: A Trek Through Loss and Gain and Loss and Gain. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Wellness, Illness, Zumbaness, and Bountifulness: Day 15 and 16

  1. kaan says:

    Nicely done – I have felt that before. It can be easy to make up silly excuses why we might not do stuff. But ultimately “doing stuff” is the best part of life. And showing up is probably the most crucial element of it.

    On an unrelated note (but related to your photo), isn’t it wacky that cucumbers often come individually wrapped in plastic? What a bizarre society we are.

    • nala7299 says:

      it is ridiculous, the cucumber thing. i only like long english cucumbers and i have considered not eating them because of the wrapping. i don’t know. i feel that way about the other packaged stuff. i can recycle all of the plastic at the depot, but still. i don’t know if i can give up my tofurkey. i’ve reduced, but i do want to do more.

Leave a Reply

