Day 5, Stayin’ Alive: Dancing on the Dinner Table

I did not plan my day well. No sirree bob! And this is the kind of day that normally gets me into trouble diabolique. Nevertheless, determined to not sink in the mire of my early morning overtired malaise, I rose and thought through my day in a careless manner, realizing I needed to buy fruit, as this a.m.’s future banana would be my last.

 

I needed to head into the big city at any rate, so that propelled me out the door; the excitement of a 3 hour round-trip commute on public transit wasn’t quite compelling (Abode de Sakamoto, home of my sister’s family, is lovely, don’t get me wrong. Beautiful forest, peaceful; all in all, good. The location for a transit user who does most stuff in Vancouver..not ideal). Getting my laptop was necessary though. The reward of blueberries and cherries…well, that and the sun certainly helped me get in gear. 

As has been my custom, I didn’t think carefully through what I would buy, what snack I ought to bring with me. Only yogurt was available for a quick nosh, and since my tummy has been acting up, the last thing I should have is dairy. Dairy and I have a rather cantankerous relationship. Sometimes, no worries whatsoever; other times, I take up an agonized residence upon the porcelain pedestal.

I decided upon an early lunch and the rest of my smoothie, and hoped that this would tide me over until I got to market, jiggity jig. Water helps too.

I was getting rather nibbly when I made my way to East West, so I picked up a box of cursedly delicious granola bars. I must make my own! This is ridiculous. Nevertheless, I made the purchase because: 1. They are Nature’s Path, a company with a solid ethical background and a less disturbing list of ingredients than might be expected from, say,  something with marshmallows in it, for example. 2. The alternative seemed to be suggesting itself rather aggressively: eat something naughty!!! Really really naughty! Don’t those cookies look grand? Lip smackity smack, goodness. NO!!! nonnononono.

Now, the problem is, watching my extremes. Completely and utterly tossing any tasty treats out the window, forever and amen, is very dramatic. But buying a box of cookies is a very bad plan because then there is a box. I was pleased to be only alerted to the thought, and moved on quickly. Having said that, I am going to compile a list of easy breezy recipe-zees for good alternatives. As I learned from my last experience, letting myself get too hungry is not a good idea; snacks are crucial to my success and variety is ideal.

I got my goods and checked out, heave ho-ing my collection back to Coquitlam. Once back, I realized I had failed to pick up a couple of necessary ingredients for the warm spinach salad I had planned for dinner. Really? Yes, really. That is just the kind of pretend “Monday” Tuesday it has been.

Instead, I threw together a bunch of veg that I needed to eat anyway into a pan and roasted them. And for protein, I had a glass of almond milk. Not the most organized of meal plans, but still, all in all, not too shabby.

My digestive system seems happier today; it’s never entirely happy about beans, as much as I love them, but it certainly is an improvement over the previous tumultuous days. I don’t know if not having coffee helped, but it didn’t hinder.

Yours truly until my shorts fall off,

Miss Nala

Tally ho! It’s off to the woods I go. With Teddy the dog in tow:)

 

 

About nala7299

Greetings Feline and Fellow Earthlings! In the interest in "brevity" I will attempt to summarize via lists. I AM, this is me, here we go, weee: writer, reader, lover of music, dance, theatre, animals, oddities, 2nd hand trolling through alleys and le boutigues of sally ann and value village, and the beautiful outdoorsy nature of my home. Big breath, leap #2: a veggie head, enviro eco freak, chocolateasaurus, transformer more than meets the eye, former ESL teacher, a happy auntie of Nicholas and Sam, my 2 sweetie pie nephews. Leap #3...welcome to me! Enough said, read my blog:)
This entry was posted in Body Blissed, Body Cursed: A Trek Through Loss and Gain and Loss and Gain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

